Plenary Speakers


Thomas J.R. Hughes is professor of aerospace engineering and engineering mechanics, holder of the Peter O'Donnell, Jr. Chair in Computational and Applied Mathematics, and leader of the ICES Computational Mechanics Group.
Hughes is one of the most widely cited authors in scientific computing. He has received numerous national and international awards for his research. He is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, the U.S. National Academy of Engineering, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and a foreign member of the Royal Society, the Austrian Academy of Sciences, and the Istituto Lombardo Accademia di Scienze e Lettere. 
Thomas W. Sederberg is a professor of computer science at Brigham Young University and associate dean of the BYU College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences. He received bachelor’s and master’s degrees in Civil Engineering at Brigham Young University in 1975 and 1977 respectively, and in 1983 earned a PhD in mechanical engineering at Purdue, after which he joined the faculty of the civil engineering department at BYU.
Herbert Edelsbrunner is a computer scientist working in the field of computational geometry,  professor at the Institute of Science and Technology Austria (IST Austria). His research evolved from algorithms and data structures to computational geometry and computational topology.
Konrad Polthier is a full professor of mathematics at Freie Universität Berlin since 2005. He received his PhD from University of Bonn in 1994, and headed research groups a Technische Universität Berlin and Zuse Institute Berlin before joining FU Berlin. His current research focuses on discrete differential geometry, applied geometry, geometry processing and mathematical visualization. Results from him have been applied in industry such as computer graphics, computer aided design and architecture.
Jorg Peters is Professor of Computer and Information Sciences at University of Florida. He is interested in representing, analyzing and computing with geometry. In 1994, Peters received a National Young Investigator Award. He was tenured at Purdue University in 1997 and moved to the University of Florida in 1998 where he became full professor. In 2014, Peters received the John Gregory Award, the highest award in the area of Geometric Design. Dr. Peters serves as editor-in-chief of the journal GMOD and as associate editor for the journals CAGD, APNUM, ACM ToG, CAMWA, CAD as well as on program committees. He chaired the SIAM interest group on geometric design and served two terms as elected chair of the Engineering Faculty Council at the University of Florida.
Michael A. Scott is an assistant professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Brigham Young University and head of the computational geometry and mechanics group. His research interests lie at the intersection of computational geometry, mechanics, and relevant engineering applications. Specifically, he is interested in fundamental developments in computer aided design, engineering, and optimization with application to complex multi physics systems common to the aerospace, naval, and automotive industries.
Suzanne M. Shontz is an associate professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the University of Kansas. She is the recipient of a 2011 NSF Presidential Early CAREER Award (NSF PECASE Award) from the White House for her 2010 NSF CAREER Project on parallel dynamic meshing algorithms, theory, and software for simulation-assisted medical interventions. Professor Shontz's research interests lie in the area of parallel scientific computing. In particular, her research focuses on the development of unstructured meshing, numerical optimization, model order reduction, and numerical linear algebra algorithms and their applications to computational medicine, imaging sciences, materials, and electronic circuits, among others.